SOUTHERN SECTION'S PRESIDENT MESSAGE

Dear CASCWA Members and Friends, 

“This time, like all times, is a very good one, if we but know what to do with it,” Emerson wrote.

One things for certain, this time will long be remembered as one of the most challenging for almost every aspect of society.  The educational system has been called upon to respond with flexibility, expertise and ingenuity.  So what we do with this time?

We are called to lead in our spheres of influence.  Establishing a welcoming, supportive and all-inclusive culture is paramount.  Being a point of contact with those who need help, are struggling, or in danger of slipping through the cracks is essential.  With online education, the 

As online education takes off across California, we need to find new ways to influence and make a difference.risks for students missing out is greater than ever.

In that regard, CASCWA is looking, this year, to venture this year into the world of “online conferences and webinars.”  We seek to provide support to students through the equipping and training of district administrators.

Please reach out to us if you have a model practice to share or expertise in an area o

f need that cold benefit your colleagues.  Watch for our offerings in the 2020-21 school year, including our spring virtual conference planned for April 26th and 27th.  Let’s use our time wisely and bring out the best in each other!

Sincerely,

Rick Riegel

Southern Section President

A FEW WORDS ABOUT RICK RIEGEL

Rick Riegel M.A., MFT, PPS is the Administrator of Student Services at the Placentia-Yorba Linda Unified School District.  He started in Placentia-Yorba Linda in January 2015.  Prior to that, he was the Coordinator of Student Services at the Orange County Department of Education for over 5 years and Coordinator of Counseling and Child Welfare and Attendance at Centralia School District for 9 years.  He began his work with youth as a Marriage, Family and Child Therapist and was Director of Outpatient Services at Straight Talk, Inc. during 17 years working there.  He is President of the California Association of Supervisors of Child Welfare and Attendance, Southern Section.  He and his wife Pamela have been married for 40 years and he has 3 grown sons and a granddaughter.

Southern Section Executive Board Meeting Dates and Minutes: 

Meeting July 13, 2020 at 9:00 Minutes to be posted.

Southern Section Area State/County/District Events

Below you will find a list of current 2020-21 school year events in the CASCWA Southern Section area hosted by state, county or district offices:

The Faces Behind CASCWA's Southern Section's Executive Board


Southern Section Fall Workshop October 28, 2020

For the past several years, Southern Section has hosted a fall workshop at the Knott's Berry Farm Hotel in Buena Park.  This year will be different!

This year Southern Section be holding a virtual zoom workshop on October 28th.  PLEASE MARK YOUR CALENDARS!

Plans are underway to host a three part workshop that will be focusing  current issues regarding:  (1) Equity,  (2) Student Discipline and (3) School Attendance.

There will be no charge for this year's October workshop and it is open to all professionals in our fields!

We will need to have all attendees to register and the registration process will start around the end of the first week in October.  A notice will be sent out to all our members and friends that will include the names of the presenters and specific information on their presentation.

We look forward to getting back to you and hope to see you on zoom! 






Rick Riegel

Southern President

Placentia Yorba Linda USD

rriegel@plyusd.org



Vicente Bravo

President Elect

Da Vinci Schools

vbravo@davincishcools.org



Jenife Mendel

Past President

Grossmont UHSD, Retired

jenifermendel53@gmail.com



Sandra Amatriain

Treasurer

Yurupa USD, Retired

sandieamatriain@gmail.com


Our Southern Section Secretary is Janet Gray - Banning USD - JGray@banning.k12.ca.us




Jason Ferrell

Webmaster

Anaheim Elementary SD

jferrell@anaheimelementary.org



Barbara Higgins

San Diego County Representative

San Diego COE

barbara.higgins@sdcoe.net



Hortencia Armendriz

Imperial County Representative

Calexico USD, Retired

harmendariz@cusd.k12.ca.us



Don English

San Bernardino County Representative

San Bernardino COE

donald.english@sbcss.net







Leslie Coghlan

Orange County Representative

Anaheim Elementary SD

lcoghlan@anaheimelementary.org



Melissa Schoonmaker

LACOE Representative

Los Angeles COE 

schoonmaker_melissa@lacoe.edu


Jenee Peevy

San Diego County Representative

San Diego COE

jpeevy@sdcoe.net



Sherman Garnett

Legislative Chair

San Bernardino Couty

Sherman_Garnett@verizon.net







Gerald Hime

Conference Chairman

LACOE, Retired

Gjhime@earthlink.net



Donna Dalton Opoku-Agyeman

Past President Advisor

Lake Elsinor USD

Drdisblessed1@gmail.com


Ilsa Garza-Gonzales

Board Advisor

Fallbrook UHSD

igarzagonzalez@fuhsd.net



Bonnie Boone

Conferece/Website 

Orange COE

BBoone@ocde.org







Jenifer Gomez Trejo

State SARB Representative

Student Support Services Solutions

Gomeztrejo.Jennifer@

4edconsultants.org




Amir Avali

Southern School Attendance

Riverside COE

aalavi@rcoe.us



Todd Bull

School Innovation & Achievement

Regional Account Manager

toddb@sia-us.com



Phil Kauble

Honorary Member at Large

LACOE, Retired

philkauble@cox.net







Tim Catlin

Member at Large

ABC USD

tim.catlin@abcusd.us



Ken Lorge

Member at Large

Placentia Yorba Linda USD, Retired

k_lorge@yahoo.com



Jessie Cherri

Member at Large

Orange USD, Retired

rcherri@socal.rr.com



Maria Hwang De Bravo

Member at Large

Student Support Services Solutions

bravo.maria@4edconsultants.org






Betty Folsom 

Member at Large 

Riverside County Office of Education, Retired

folsomb8@gmail.com 


Cara Chavez

Scholarship Chair 
 
Jurupa Unified School District, Retired

cacha628@gmail.com


 Monique Yessian

Member at Large  

Tustin Unified School District

myessian@tustin.k12.ca.us

 



Aurora M. Perry

Member at Large

Beaumont Unified School District, Retired

Aurora.mendoza.perry@gmail.com


Strategic Partners


CASCWA Partner publications


"Red Book"


Student Records


Bullying


Conversation Starters



California Association of Supervisors of Child Welfare and Attendance.  501(c)4 non-profit organization. P.O. Box 879 Sanger Ca 93657

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software